World Cup 2022 groups

The 2022 World Cup groups consist of 32 countries from 6 continents, which are divided into 8 groups. England are in Group B.

  • England are in Group B with Iran, the US and Wales.

After the draw, it was announced which countries are in each other's groups. Now it is clear which countries have to play against each other for a place in the knock-out round of the 2022 World Cup. Host country Qatar has automatically qualified for the World Cup and is classified in group A.

The 2022 World Cup contains eight groups: from group A to group H. Each group consists of four countries, the first two of which will qualify for the knockout round. So 16 countries go to the knockout round of the World Cup.

Also view the World Cup 2022 schedule.

World Cup 2022 groups

These are the 2022 World Cup groups:

Group A
Qatar Qatar
Ecuador Ecuador
Senegal Senegal
Netherlands Netherlands
Group B
England England
Iran Iran
United States United States
Wales Wales
Group C
Argentina Argentina
Saudi Arabia Saudi Arabia
Mexico Mexico
Poland Poland
Group D
France France
Australia Australia
Denmark Denmark
Tunisia Tunisia
Group E
Spanje Spain
Costa Rica Costa Rica
Germany Germany
Japan Japan
Group F
Belgium Belgium
Canada Canada
Morocco Morocco
Croatia Croatia
Group G
Brazil Brazil
Serbia Serbia
Switzerland Switzerland
Cameroon Cameroon
Group H
Portugal Portugal
Ghana Ghana
Uruguay Uruguay
South Korea South Korea


The exact composition of the groups has become known after the 2022 World Cup draw.

World Cup 2022 groups
World Cup 2022 groups

World Cup 2022 group heads

The World Cup 2022 draw can be favorable or unfavorable. England can hit a lot of weak or a lot of heavy opponents. In order to prevent a pool with too many strong countries, the draw is drawn in such a way that these strong countries cannot meet in the pool.

The best seven countries according to the FIFA World ranking are placed in the first pot, together with host country Qatar. The countries in this pot will be the group leaders of the eight 2022 World Cup groups.

World Cup 2022 groups frequently asked questions (FAQ)

What do the World Cup groups consist of?

The World Cup groups consist of 8 groups of 4 teams each. The eight groups are lettered from A to H.

Which World Cup group is England in?

England are in Group B with Iran, the US and Wales.

Date published: 16-03-2010 | Date updated: 14-04-2024 | Author:

Share 'World Cup groups 2022 - 8 groups of 4 countries at the 2022 World Cup'

Share this message via social media with your family, friends and colleagues!

The 2022 World Cup groups of the World Cup in Qatar. There are 8 groups of 4 countries. England are in Group B with Iran, the US and European playoffs.

About the author of 'World Cup groups 2022 - 8 groups of 4 countries at the 2022 World Cup'

Patrick (author and webmaster)

Author of this content is Patrick. I have been playing soccer for more than 25 years and follow the daily news closely. My hobbies include playing football, running and maintaining various websites, in addition to my job as a financial professional.

I do not work for any related company or institution, so the information is reliable and independent. The information has been collected accurately from reliable sources and is regularly updated.